Sims 3 delayed?

Maybe I should just give up the pretense and make this a Sims blog. I’m afraid it’s my current obsession gameswise. Again ;) That has a lot to do with Sims 3’s imminent release.

Or is it imminent? dum duh duh dummmmmm…

There have been rumors on the EA forums about a delay off and on for months now… generally based on some vendor in some country giving out a ship date later than Feb 20. Vendors very frequently get dates wrong, though, in my looooong experience of eagerly awaiting the release of one game or another ;)

The latest version of the rumor seems more serious though. This remark from ParsimoniousKate (one of the Creator’s Camp participants) on the SimPE forum has given rise to a rash of panicky delay threads on the EA forum:

“Incidentally, the game release date is now unknown, they’re delaying it so it will not be out on Feb 20th as previously expected.”

and:

“the game is pretty borked and there’s a lot of tuning issues which are going to take in the order of months to sort out properly.”

I have faulted EA plenty of times for releasing Sims 2 expacks on schedule and loaded with bugs rather than taking the time to test and repair pre-release, so it would be hypocritical of me to complain if they delay this one ;) I will be sad, but I have to say I’m still having fun with Sims 2.

There’s more interesting info from Kate about Sims 3 modding potential in the above thread, btw :)

4 Responses to “Sims 3 delayed?”

  1. simgod Says:

    I came upon your post from my own. Here we are.. two weeks or so later and, as it turns out, Kate was right.. and the estimate was just about right.
    Interesting.

    Makes me wonder if it isn’t, in the end, about Bug Smashing. Would rather have a better product than one that needs to be patched right away. Just wish they hadn’t waited as long as they did…

    • srikalanna Says:

      I’m sure it’s about bug smashing. The advertising blitz story makes no sense, they could have started that six weeks ago. And yeah. Better they finish the damn game ;)

  2. srikalanna Says:

    oh interesting :) I hadn’t heard that.

    There’s some more grist for the rumor over at the Snooty Sims forum too… somebody got an email from EA pretty much saying that the release date was uncertain.

    I’m in “wait and see” mode now.

  3. Kergguz Says:

    Hope you’re wrong :)

    But yeah, games that are buggy on release are annoying as hell. To add some substance to the rumour- PC Gamer UK came out last week, and when referring to The Sims 3 they say, and I quote… “Expect it a month or two late”.

    I guess these are well connected guys in the industry so I wouldn’t be surprised if it pans out.


Leave a comment